Moving House. Argh!

Do you ever wish you hadn’t started something? Well, that’s how I felt when I had this idea. I’m in the midst of the big cafuffle that is moving house. This inspired me to look for a ‘moving house’ themed business cards. The results were so disappointing! Pages full of designs cursed with word art, clip art and comic sans. Devastating.

After endless trawling through the internet, I came across a couple of websites which sell a range of cards for moving house, and thankfully they’re not too shabby!

The first selection I have picked out are taken from a website called Minted.

This design is created by Amanda Larsen Design:

amanda larsen designamanda larsen design1

 

 

 

 

 

I’m a sucker for anything which appears vaguely ‘earthy’ or ‘recycled’, and so as you would guess; I love the cardboard texture to these cards combined with the bold print.The texture is also relevant, as anyone who has moved house will know, you become swamped with cardboard boxes stacked in every corner of your house, and normally they hang around the new house for several months before you finally finish unpacking. When I was younger I always used to doodle bold arrow patterns on all my school books, so this is almost nostalgic to me too, (strange, I know).

These next two designs are by Sara Hicks Malone:

sara hicks malone2

sara hicks malone3

sara hicks malone

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the clean cut boldness and use of highlighting on the cards, (once again arrows!).

For the design ideas below these work well with the American zip code across the photo. I’m unsure as to whether or not the design would look as good with a British post code instead but it would be worth a try.

sara hicks malone 2 - 2

sara hicks malone 2 - 1

sara hicks malone 2 - 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I won’t overload you with more cards, but here are some links to other cards I found and liked.

Minted

Key Pattern Buttercup

Big News!

Sewn Card

and last but not least, a beautiful letter-pressed cardI would have focused on this more, but didn’t want to repeat my previous entry about a letter-pressed card.

That’s all folks!

Leave a comment